Does anyone have tips to mix vocals?

Sample Packs? VSTs? DAWs? EQ? What DOES the knee on the Compressor do? All computer-related music making topics belong here!

Does anyone have tips to mix vocals?

Postby Kenny Tweek » 18 Mar 2014 23:48

Hey... So, to the point. I recorded my vocals for a song this weekend, and it's not so bad (in the recording way) but when I slap some plugins and mess with stuff, well, I don't know, it just don't sound like... Something... :v
In case that's important, Most of it I used Parametric EQ 2 with the Vocal Presence preset and Maximus with Clear Master.
I use FL Studio, btw. And well, the problem is that the voice sounds weird... Do you know when the vocal start in a professional song, and you don't feel some strange frequences in it? It sounds much more natural, and that's what is missing... Does anyone can help me with tips and recomendations? (Plugins, softwares, etc)
I'm new in this stuff, btw, that's why you probably are confused 'cause a piece of paper can explain stuff better than me. :3
Last edited by Kenny Tweek on 19 Mar 2014 13:23, edited 2 times in total.
Tell me, what's that thing called "talent"? Do you really think you born with it? Or do you think you learn it with time and dedication?

So yeah, me around the internet.

Youtube (Brony)
Facebook
Soundcloud
Kenny Tweek

Primary: FL Studio
Cutie Mark: Guitar and Vocals

Re: Does anyone have tips to master vocals?

Postby S.P.P » 19 Mar 2014 03:07

Mix* Vocals. :3

Right then, first of all how is the original vocal recording sounding? You can't fix a broken recording with studio wizardry, so if the dry acapella sounds poor you'll have to either re-do the take or choose a better mic, depending on the problem. Remember; if you try to polish a turd you'll just end up spreading shit everywhere!