How Do I Write A Guitar Instrumental Song?

From scales and semitones to pentatonics and cadence patterns. It's all about the science behind the expression, here.

How Do I Write A Guitar Instrumental Song?

Postby hunterz263 » 17 May 2014 11:48

Hello everypony,

I was wondering about composition when it comes to guitar. I have been playing for two years and would like to start composing songs that are purely instrumental. I have all the tools -- I own seven electric guitars for goodness sakes -- I need to make an awesome song, but I really do not know where to start. I have attempted to make such songs in the past, but I get stuck on where to go.

Also, I would like to make songs similar to ISMBOFepicly's and Canapplejack's style of music.

Here are a few examples:

Thank you for reading and listening.

--hunterz263
Soundcloud: hunterz263
YouTube: gamer263

Audio Interface:
-Fractal Audio Axe-FX II XL

Guitars:
-Fender American Standard Stratocaster (Standard tuning)
-Fender American Standard Telecaster (Eb standard)
-Fender Squire Bullet Strat (Drop C#)
-Gibson Les Paul Standard 2013 (Drop D)
-Ibanez RGIR27FE (Drop A)
-Ibanez RGIR20FE (Drop A#)

Bass:
-Fender American Standard Precision Bass

DAW:
-Logic Pro X
hunterz263

Primary: Logic Pro X
Cutie Mark: Guitar

Re: How Do I Write A Guitar Instrumental Song?

Postby S.P.P » 18 May 2014 02:30

Whenever I write guitar tracks, the easiest thing for me is to write it as MIDI tracks in the DAW. This way you get to hear all the parts together at all times, and in my opinion it's infinitely easier to write the next part.
Next you learn the parts separately and record them one-by-one, replacing the MIDI tracks.

That's basically all I do when writing guitar music and from what I hear, the same method works for a lot of people :3
S.P.P

Primary: FL Studio, Ableton, Pro Tools

Postby hunterz263 » 18 May 2014 10:56