Music For Video Games

From scales and semitones to pentatonics and cadence patterns. It's all about the science behind the expression, here.

Music For Video Games

Postby JSynth » 22 Jan 2014 21:29

So, lately I have been looking into making music for video games. I have been reading as much as I can on the subject and it definetly seems like a good area of work. One of the main reasons I have been looking for more sources of incomev (lots of bills and little money).

I would probably start off charging arround $40-60 per minute, seeing that I am a student and have a little over a year of production experience.

Anyway, does anyone here have experience making music for games?
https://soundcloud.com/jasper-synth/back-at-me
Jokeblue wrote:You fool. You've doomed the Spam thread to yet another, inevitable :3 spam.

My Tumblr
My YouTube
My SoundCloud

DAW: Logic Pro 9
Plugins: Sylenth, Sausage Fattener, Komplete 9, NI The Mouth, Ozone 5, Bitspeek
JSynth

Primary: Logic 9
Cutie Mark: yo face

Re: Music For Video Games

Postby Acsii » 22 Jan 2014 23:34

Also I'd like to point out that in the December 2013 edition of Music Tech there is an interview with a producer who makes video game music. The article may also be on their website not sure, but it gives good insight into the industry.
20 something Transgirl that makes sounds called music
Soundcloud | Facebook | Bandcamp | Blog
Placing my tongue on the GR meter to taste the gain reduction I some how improved my skills.
Acsii

Primary: Logic Pro X
Cutie Mark: Old round oscilloscope

Postby CitricAcid » 23 Jan 2014 05:48

I once met with some game developers about doing music from games and got a few key pointers. For one, small game companies hire one "sound" person to do both the music and sound effects. If you can do both, then you're much better off than if you do just music. They also tend to favor electronic music over orchestral. This may not be a big deal for you, but it sure was a downer for me.
Image Image Image