Looking for advice at composing glitch-hop tracks

From scales and semitones to pentatonics and cadence patterns. It's all about the science behind the expression, here.

Looking for advice at composing glitch-hop tracks

Postby hipsterponyravenhorn » 17 Sep 2015 03:05

Hi, I've been a long time admirer of Pony music, and have always wanted to break into it myself. But I could never find anything that I could really latch onto in regards of genre that I wanted to try to break into, something that had been advised to me in the past. Now I have some composition knowledge, having taken college level music theory courses, and I have plenty of editing experience. However, I still find it extremely hard to produce music, especially the genre that I really want to break into Glitch-hop. I'm having a really hard time understanding how to work with this music, so any help would be appreciated. I'm sorry if this was ramblely, writing this was extremely nerve wrecking for me, since I sometimes worry that I'm wasting people's time when I ask these things. Thank you in advance.
hipsterponyravenhorn

Primary: FL Studio/Pro Tools
Cutie Mark: Blank flank

Re: Looking for advice at composing glitch-hop tracks

Postby ExoBassTix » 17 Sep 2015 05:30

Hey there hprh! Welcome to MLR :)

I can't really say I have much in-depth experience with the 'standards' of the Glitch-Hop genre, but I can still help get you on your route to discovery. You weren't very precise on what part of producing Glitch-Hop is hard for you, so I'm gonna go ahead and assume you meant most everything in general. This tip should apply to anything you're struggling with.

Listen to some of your favorite tracks, and start dissecting them, analyzing them, and seeing why certain elements sound so good. Try to mimic it, practice ways to get close to what they did, see how you can build from that, improvise and find new ways to develop your thing from what they did.

See for yourself if this works for you :)