Help picking out a new computer!

Sports, politics, movies, videogames, questionable hobbies, photos from your family vacation, etc. Talk about stuff that isn't ponies or music. But do try to stay on topic and respectful of alternate opinions.

Help picking out a new computer!

Postby Versilaryan » 31 Jul 2011 13:03

So I'm getting sick and tired of this horrible, horrible HP laptop, so I'm thinking about building a desktop computer. Problem is, I don't know where to start! (Well, I do, but I don't trust myself to get the right things yet.)

So anypony out there have any advice for what I should be looking for, what to avoid, etc.? I'm not much of a computer gamer, but I would like to be able to run games on this thing (this one has difficulty running Minecraft), not to mention music and the fact I'm majoring in computer science.

The big questions I have, though are:

How much does the internal sound card matter? I've got an external sound card, so how much will the internal sound card affect what I'm doing?
Should I stick with the standard 7200 RPM hard drive, or should I look into 10000 RPM or invest in solid-state drives? I remember my trumpet instructor saying something about hard drive speed when recording music. (My friend's friend, apparently, runs his OS on a solid state drive and stores everything in a second hard drive. Is it worth it?)
Versilaryan

Re: Help picking out a new computer!

Postby Makkon » 31 Jul 2011 13:28

The first question you should ask yourself: how much are you willing to spend?

The second question that is also vexing: Are you willing to build this computer yourself? Many pre-built machines aren't worth the money.