Looking for a MIDI keyboard

Discuss tips, tricks, and the creative process of music creation. Post HELP threads here

Looking for a MIDI keyboard

Postby DJ Skrudge » 19 Nov 2012 06:14

So I'm looking to buy a reasonably priced MIDI keyboard, but I don't know exactly what would suit my needs. I'm just starting out with REAPER but hoping to move to FL Studio some time in the near future, and I'd like a keyboard that works well with these programs... Also, a mod wheel is a MUST, and any other knobs or pads that come with it would be greatly appreciated. From your experiences, what would you guys recommend? Looking at a $150-$200 range if at all possible. Thank you! :)
I worship Fluttershy.
DJ Skrudge

Re: Looking for a MIDI keyboard

Postby UnderKeel » 19 Nov 2012 06:26

Normal or compact?
Just for example:
AKAI MPK25
loop =~=~=~=~=~
Hi. All my works here:
YouTube
SoundCloud
end loop -~-~_~-~-
UnderKeel

Postby Captain Ironhelm » 19 Nov 2012 06:37

http://www.amazon.com/Alesis-QX49-Extended-Keyboard-Controller/dp/B004JPSYZU/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_S_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=38JX8STQ93BWI&coliid=I1I0MTZLDFH857

http://www.amazon.com/M-Audio-9900-52239-10-KeyRig-Keyboard-Controller/dp/B000NGG3HU/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=38JX8STQ93BWI&coliid=I1LZTSDUSO4JTG
(There are models with more keys)

Be aware that I do not own any of these. Above I listed a couple that I'm considering. What I own is an Akai LPK25 because I needed something small for travel, but it has no mod wheel.
Captain Ironhelm

Postby Omegastick » 19 Nov 2012 09:18

I wouldn't recommend the M-Audio controller that Captain posted. Although I don't own it personally I've used it a fair bit and it feels rather flimsy. It also has hardly any extra controls on it, only having a slider, three buttons, one pitch bend wheel and one regular wheel on top of the normal keys.
Omegastick

Postby Captain Ironhelm » 19 Nov 2012 12:35